Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Québec, Canada - 1832 - The Parish of St. Augustin
comprehends parts of the SS. of Desmaure, Fausembault and Belair, and belongs to the ladies of l'Hotel Dieu at Quebec. It contains 4 concessions, those nearest the St. Lawrence the most populous. 4/ 5ths of the P. are under cultivation and 1/ 5th in wood. There is one school, supported by the parish, in which 50 scholars are instructed in French and English. Near the church, 130 ft. by 52, built on a point projecting into the St. Lawrence, is the small but pretty village of St. Augustin, consisting of 14 houses including an inn, through which the post road passe. The horses are of the Canadian breed and though small sufficiently good. Nearly all the grain grown is consumed by the P. The roads are not kept in good repair, and there is one bridge over the R. Cap Rouge. Both horses and oxen are used in agriculture. Some surplus manufactured articles are produced for sale. Although the soil is not generally adapted to the growth of hemp, yet is is in some degree cultivated. - The lands in this P. were all conceded prior to 1759.
Statistics of St. Augustin P. including St. Catherine of Fausembault.
Churches, R.C. 1
A Topographical Dictionary of The Province of Lower Canada by Joseph Bouchette, Esq., London, 1832
Visit Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, Québec, Canada
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.