Happy Prime Day - Get Early Deals! - GreenerPasture Genealogy

Sign In / Sign Up

BEST FREE ancestry website since 1999 - History belongs to all of us!

, United States (USA) (American Colonies)
1861 - American Civil War: The Confederate States of America are formed, comprising the first six break-away States (February 8)

On February 8, 1861, representatives from six seceded states — South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, and Louisiana — met in Montgomery, Alabama. Their purpose was to formally establish a unified government, which they named the Confederate States of America. This new confederation adopted a constitution that emphasized the sovereignty and independence of individual states. By the time Abraham Lincoln was inaugurated in March 1861, Texas had also joined the Confederacy, and federal troops held only Fort Sumter in South Carolina, Fort Pickens off the Florida coast, and a few minor outposts in the South. The American Civil War began on April 12, 1861, when Confederate shore batteries fired upon Fort Sumter in South Carolina’s Charleston Harbor 12.

February 8, 1861

Visit United States (USA) (American Colonies)
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.