Sillery, Québec, Québec, Canada (Mission Saint-Joseph-de-Sillery) (Saint-Colomb-de-Sillery) - 1832 - SILLERY,
seigniory, in the co. of Quebec, is bounded N.E. by part of St. Ignace and several small grants; S.W. by Gaudarville; in the rear by St. Gabriel; in front by the St. Lawrence. - One league broad by 1 1/ 2 league in depth. This grant, originally forming part of the concession of St. Gabriel, was ceded to the King in 1664 and granted, October 23rd, 1699, to the order of Jesuits: it is now property of the crown...
...nearly the whole of the seigniory is cultivated, and extremely fertile in almost every variety of the productions of the country. - Very little timber of a superior quality is now remaining, or indeed much wood of any description, except what is found in Sillery Wood, and a few other patches that appear to have been left in various parts as much for ornament as for use.. - Part of the river St. Charles passes through the S., and it is also watered by several small streams that wind along the valley in a very pleasing manner...
the malt house and brewery are entitled to some respect as being the venerable remains of an ancient chapel and some other buildings, erected in 1637 by the Jesuits, for the residence of a mission employed in converting the natives to Christianity. Not far from this spot the nation of Algonquins had a village and in Sillery Wood there yet remain some of the tumuli belonging to their burying-place,and some of their rude mementos carved on the trees are still visible...
Churches R.C. 1
A Topographical Dictionary of The Province of Lower Canada by Joseph Bouchette, Esq., London, 1832
Visit Sillery, Québec, Québec, Canada (Mission Saint-Joseph-de-Sillery) (Saint-Colomb-de-Sillery)
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.