GreenerPasture.com

Sign In




Saint-Joseph-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada - 1832 - ST. JOSEPH,


seigniory, in the co. of Beauce, is bounded N.E. by Frampton; S.W. by Broughton; in the rear by Vaudreuil; in front by Ste. Marie. - 3 leagues in breadth by 4 in depth. Granted, Sept. 23, 1736, to Sieur Riguad de Vaudreuil; and is now the property of the Hon. P.E. Taschereau. The W. section belongs to Fleury Delagorgondiere and the widow of the Hon. A.L. Duchesnaye. The surface is uneven and rocky in several places; yet the land is tolerably good, and in general very productive where it is under culture. Timber of almost every description is found in great plenty. The river Chaudiere passes through the center, dividing the S. nearly in equal proportions. On each side of the R. are settlements at a little distance from the bank, where agriculture has been carried on with good success. Besides these tracts, there are, in different parts of the interior, a few concessions that have also made considerable progress. The farm houses by the road side, on each bank of the river, are numerous, neat and substantial, denoting the ease and comfort of their occupants. Here is scarcely any stream except the main river. - The S. has a church and a parsonage-house, and at the lower part are valuable corn and saw-mills.

Population 1,936
Churches, R.C. 1
Cures 1
Presbyteries 1
Schools 1
Corn-mills 2
Carding-mills 1
Fulling-mills 1
Saw-mills 6
Notaries 1
Shopkeepers 3
Taverns 2
Artisans 21

A Topographical Dictionary of The Province of Lower Canada by Joseph Bouchette, Esq., London, 1832

Visit Saint-Joseph-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.


Saint-Joseph-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada

Saint-Joseph-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada

The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.