Scipio, New York, USA - 1868 City Directory
SCIPIO was one of the original towns, having been formed March 5, 1794. Sempronius was taken off in 1799; a part of Marcellus, (Onondaga Co.,) in 1804; Ledyard, Venice and a part of Springport, in 1823. It is located on the west shore of Owasco Lake, south of the center of the County, and has a rolling surface, the highest summits being 500 feet above the lake. A steep bluff, 20 to 50 feet high, extends along the lake, and from its summit the land slopes gradually upward for about a mile. The streams are nothing but mere brooks, and the soil is a clayey loam.
In 1790, the first settlements were made, Elisha Durkee, Henry Watkins, Gilbert and Alanson Tracy, Samuel Branch, Ebenezer Witter and Gideon Allen, being the pioneers. The first child born was Betsy Durkee, Dec. 5, 1790; the first marriage was that of William Allen and Betsy Watkins, June 25, 1793. William Daniels taught the first school, in 1798, and Dr. Strong kept the first store, in 1808. The first religious services were held by Elder David Irish, in 1794, and the first church (Baptist,) was formed the same year.
The census of 1865 gives the town an area of 23,963 3/ 4 acres.
freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/ ~springport/ pictures38/ 00003875.JPG
Visit Scipio, New York, USA
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.