GREENERPASTURE Free Family History Since 1999
HISTORICAL IMAGE

Weston, Connecticut, USA


Cobb's Mill Inn

"...The restaurant originally started as a lumber, grist and cider mill on 160 acres, owned and operated by early Puritan settlers Eleazor Sturges and Ephraim Jackson in the 1700s...

In the 1800s, the property was known as Davis Mill and later as Carver’s Mill, where rye, wheat, apples, and timber, harvested from Weston fields, orchards and forests, were ground, pressed or cut...

In 1912, a 36-acre lot containing the mill and a farm was bought by Frank Cobb, editor in chief of the New York World newspaper, who used the property for swimming and ice skating. The building then became known as “Cobb’s Mill,” and the name has stuck ever since..."

The Weston Forum
Weston, Connecticut
March 2, 2016


Cobb's Mill Inn

"...The restaurant originally started as a lumber, grist and cider mill on 160 acres, owned and operated by early Puritan settlers Eleazor Sturges and Ephraim Jackson in the 1700s...

In the 1800s, the property was known as Davis Mill and later as Carver’s Mill, where rye, wheat, apples, and timber, harvested from Weston fields, orchards and forests, were ground, pressed or cut...

In 1912, a 36-acre lot containing the mill and a farm was bought by Frank Cobb, editor in chief of the New York World newspaper, who used the property for swimming and ice skating. The building then became known as “Cobb’s Mill,” and the name has stuck ever since..."

The Weston Forum
Weston, Connecticut
March 2, 2016
Pinterest

More from Weston, Connecticut, USA

Explore the history, people, stories and historical records of Weston, Connecticut, USA

Ancestors Who Were Born or Died in Weston, Connecticut, USA

We currently have information about ancestors who were born or died here.

View Them Now (sorted by year of birth)