Fleming, New York, USA - 1868 City Directory
Fleming was taken from Aurelius, March 28, 1823, and named after Gen. George Fleming, an old resident. It lies south of the center of the County, and west of the foot of Owasco Lake. It has a rolling surface, inclining toward the north and east. The slope of the lake banks continues upward about three-fourths of a mile. The highest parts of the town are 150 to 250 feet above the lake, and 800 to 1000 feet above tide. Crane and Wheeler Creeks are the main streams. The soil is chiefly a gravelly loam, with occasional intermixture of clay and sand.
Fleming, (p.v.) near the central part, is a small village. Owasco Lake is a post office.
The first settlements were made in 1790-91. Among the early settlers were Benjamin Irish, Joseph Grover, Edward Wheeler, Ichabod and Abel Wilkinson, and James Harrington. The first birth was that of Aurelius Wheeler, in 1791, and the first death that of Mrs. West, in 1792. John Herring taught the first school, in 1794; Abel Wilkinson, kept the first inn, in 1792; and Joseph Grover kept the first store in 1797. The first religious services were held by Elder Daniel Iris, (Baptist,) about the year 1794.
The census of 1865 gives the town an area of 12,935 acres.
freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/ ~springport/ pictures38/ 00003867.JPG
Visit Fleming, New York, USA
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.