GreenerPasture Genealogy

Sign In

BEST FREE ancestry website since 1999 - History belongs to all of us!

Add MY Family To This Page

flag  History of Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Journey back in time to Stafford, Connecticut, USA

(Stafford Springs) (Staffordville)

Visit Stafford, Connecticut, USA. Discover its history. Learn about the people who lived there through stories, old newspaper articles, pictures, postcards and ancestry.

Do You Have Stafford Roots? Share MY Ancestral Story!

Stafford, Connecticut, USA - Corps Machine Shop and Foundry. Used from 1855-1880. Stafford, Conn. museumofcthistory.org

Stafford, Tolland, Connecticut, USA

The Town of Stafford began its history almost 300 years ago as a rural hill town with 3 excellent agricultural districts. Most of the population was concentrated in 6-7 villages. Industrialization took advantage of abundant water power from the tributaries of the Willimantic River, & caused population shifts. In the mid-1800's, the Railroad connected Stafford to markets across New England. www.staffordct.org

...If you find a road map of the states in the United States and you look at the map of Connecticut and if you find the boundaries of the town of Stafford you will find within that area small circles of designating small villages that are at the intersections of some major roads. These circles are the same in all towns. In Stafford there were seven, now perhaps only six are shown. These are: West Stafford, Staffordville, Hydeville, Stafford, Orcutts and Stafford Springs. The seventh was or is Ellithrope. Ellithrope is at the intersection of Diamond Ledge Road and Route 32. One person there has a large sign on his garage. A village is usuallly a part of town where the houses are closer together around a mill, church, and store. Maps made by the town show the same six or seven. Most of these villages in Connecticut have no boundaries although few do. One of these is Stafford Springs. With its many mills, wealthy mill owners, and mill workers, it decided to have its own government in 1873. How it placed its boundaries would be of interest. Generally it is now "where the sidewalks end!" and as far as the street lights. Once it had the only fire hydrants and sewer lines. Now these have been extended to some other places in Stafford... www.mystaffordsprings.com

John Adams is said to have vacationed in Stafford for the soothing powers of the town’s mineral springs.

During the Civil War the town’s factories made cannonballs.
courant.com


Subscribe to our Youtube channel


Postcards and Memories of Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Subscribe to our Youtube channel


There is MUCH more to discover about Stafford, Connecticut, USA. Read on!

Stafford Nostalgia: Vintage Photos, Ads, and Postcards

Corps Machine Shop and Foundry. Used from 1855-1880. Stafford, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Corps Machine Shop and Foundry. Used from 1855-1880. Stafford, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Warren Woolen Comp., Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Warren Woolen Comp., Stafford Springs, Conn.

"...the mill was first established in 1853 by Parley Converse as the Converseville Company....

In 1879, Converse sold the textile manufacturing company to brothers Daniel and Thomas Warren, who would rename it the Warren Woolen Company. In 1890, it was acquired by J. M. Valentine and would continue to be operated by him and subsequent family members almost uninterrupted for the next 80 years..."

The Hartford Courant
Hartford, Connecticut
October 26, 2016
Main Street, looking East, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Main Street, looking East, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Haymarket Square, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Haymarket Square, Stafford Springs, Conn.
View of Stafford Hollow, Stafford, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
View of Stafford Hollow, Stafford, Conn.
High School, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
High School, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Riverside Woolen Mill, 1906
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Riverside Woolen Mill, 1906
Baptist Church
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Baptist Church
River Mill. Fabyan Woolen Co. Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
River Mill. Fabyan Woolen Co. Stafford Springs, Conn.
The Allen Bridge and Spring House, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
The Allen Bridge and Spring House, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford Springs House, Stafford Springs, Conn., 1907
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Stafford Springs House, Stafford Springs, Conn., 1907
Faulkner's Woolen Mill, Stafford Springs, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org

The mill was owned by Midd
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Faulkner's Woolen Mill, Stafford Springs, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org

The mill was owned by Middle River Woolen Company, in 1899, which leased it to Frederick Faulkner and Company of Lowell, Massachusetts. Faulkner occupied the plant until August 31 1913, when a massive fire completely consumed the mill and the firm closed its doors. connecticutmills.org
Railroad Station, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Railroad Station, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Trolley Bridge. Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Trolley Bridge. Stafford Springs, Conn.
Discover you family history through historical newspapers at Newspapers.com
Central Woolen Mill, Stafford Springs, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Central Woolen Mill, Stafford Springs, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Cattle at Agricultural Fair, Stafford Springs, Conn., 1909
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Cattle at Agricultural Fair, Stafford Springs, Conn., 1909
Methodist Church, Stafford Springs, Conn., 1909
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Methodist Church, Stafford Springs, Conn., 1909
Pinney Grammar School

Land for Pinney School was given by Mrs. Esther S. Pinney.

...a four roo
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Pinney Grammar School

Land for Pinney School was given by Mrs. Esther S. Pinney.

...a four room structure known as Pinney School was erected in 1895. The bell in the building was donated by Mrs. Julia Pinney Johnson.
scholarworks.umass.edu
View of Crystal Lake, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
View of Crystal Lake, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Memorial Hall and Library, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Memorial Hall and Library, Stafford Springs, Conn.
St. Edward's Church, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
St. Edward's Church, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Phoenix Woolen Co.
Stafford, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Phoenix Woolen Co.
Stafford, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
The Stafford Worsted Mill and Hudson Garage.
Stafford Springs, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org

The
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
The Stafford Worsted Mill and Hudson Garage.
Stafford Springs, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org

The site eventually occupied by the Stafford Worsted Company plant has long been the location of significant industrial enterprises. The first mill erected on the site was built to house the Mineral Springs Company ca. 1837. This firm was organized by prominent Stafford industrialists Parley and Solva Converse, and produced various lines of woolen goods. The original plant was heavily damaged by fire in 1848, yet was quickly rebuilt and work restored. The firm pressed on for five decades before the complex was sold to a holding company, the Middle River Woolen Company, in 1899, which leased it to Frederick Faulkner and Company of Lowell, Massachusetts. Faulkner occupied the plant until August 31 1913, when a massive fire completely consumed the mill and the firm closed its doors. In 1916, the Stafford Worsted Company erected a new factory on the former site of the Mineral Springs Company... Read MORE...
Garland Woolen Mill, Staffordville, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Garland Woolen Mill, Staffordville, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
East Main Street, Stafford Springs, Conn., 1912
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
East Main Street, Stafford Springs, Conn., 1912
New Weave Shed of Rhode Island Worsted Co., Stafford Springs, Conn., 1913
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
New Weave Shed of Rhode Island Worsted Co., Stafford Springs, Conn., 1913
Universalist Church
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Universalist Church
Hydeville Mill, Stafford, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Hydeville Mill, Stafford, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Warren Memorial Town Hall, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Warren Memorial Town Hall, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Mineral Springs, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Mineral Springs, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Johnson Woolen Co., Stafford Springs, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Johnson Woolen Co., Stafford Springs, Conn.
museumofcthistory.org
Johnson Memorial Hospital, Stafford Springs, Conn.
Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Postcard
Pinterest    
Johnson Memorial Hospital, Stafford Springs, Conn.

Discover Stafford: History, News, Travel, and Stories

Add informationAdd History/News/Story
Incorporated in 1719, Stafford became a resort town as growing numbers of people, including President John Adams, sought out the waters’ curative powers.

connecticuthistory.org/ towns-page/ stafford/

Read more about John ADAMS photo of ancestor
1819 - Stafford
Stafford is an elevated post township, situated upon the northern border of the county and State, 26 miles norteasterly from Hartford; bounded on the north by Massachusetts line, on the east by Union and Willington, on the south by Willington and Ellington, and on the west by Ellington and Somers. Its mean length, from east to west, is 8 and a half miles, and its mean breadth, from north to south, more than 6 miles, comprising an area of about 53 square miles.

The general character of the township is that of an elevated, broken and mountainous country; but the western section is more conspicuously marked with these features.

Its geological structure is primitive; the rocks consisting of granite, micaceous schistus, and some other original formations. The prevailing soil is a gravelly loam, hard and dry, but affording very good grazing.

There are several minerals in the town, of which iron ore is the most important, and abounds in various places. Several mines of it have been... Read MORE...

1839 - Stafford
Stafford, Connecticut
Tolland county. This town lies 24 miles N.E. from Hartford, 6 N.E. from Tolland, 27 N.W. from Brooklyn, 36 N. from Norwich, 14 N.E. from Springfield, Mass., and 73 W.S.W. from Boston. Population, 1830, 2,515.

The surface of the town is rough; in some parts mountainous, abounding with rocks of primitive formation. Its soil is a coarse, hard and dry gravelly loam, generally not very productive. There are several minerals in the town, but iron ore is the principal. As early as 1779, a blast furnace was erected here, and cannon shot, hollow ware, &c., were cast.

The town is watered by Furnace river, and the Willimantic, which unite in Stafford, and afford a good water power. There are in the town several blast and cupola furnaces, a cotton mill, manufactures of pistols, axes, adzes, carpenters' chisels, tailors' shears, drawing knives, and several other articles of cutlery. There are also manufactures of cotton and woolen machinery, cabinet ware, brush... Read MORE...

1854 - Stafford
Stafford, a post-township of Tolland co., Connecticut, intersected by the New London, Willimantic, and Palmer railroad, 28 miles N. E. from Hartford. It contains three thriving manufacturing villages, viz. Staffordville, Stafford Hollow, and Stafford Springs. Staf ford Springs, situated on the Willimantic river, and on the New London, Willimantic, and Palmer railroad, 60 miles N. by W. from New London, is celebrated for the medicinal properties of its waters, and is visited by per sons from all parts of the Union. One of them contains a solution of iron, sustained by carbonic acid gas, some earthy substances, and an element called natron. This is regarded by chemists as one of the most efficacious chalybeate springs in the United States. The other, as analyzed by Professor Silliman, contains a large portion of hydrogen gas and sulphur, and a small proportion of iron. A splendid hotel has been erected here for the accommodation of visitors. The village of Stafford Springs has 2... Read MORE...

In the late 1800s, as the springs’ popularity declined, textile mills, a button factory, and other enterprises formed Stafford’s industrial hub.

connecticuthistory.org/ towns-page/ stafford
1895 - Stafford
Stafford, a post-town of Tolland co, Conn., watered by the head-streams of the Willimantic River, and intersected by the New London Northern Railroad, 20 miles N. by W. of Willimantic, and about 25 miles N.E. of Hartford. It contains several manufacturing villages, the most important of which are Stafford (or Stafford Furnace), Stafford Springs, Staffordville, and West Stafford. The village of Stafford, or Stafford Furnace, has 2 churches, a hotel, several stores, and a woollen-factory. Pop. of the town in 1880, 4455; in 1890, 4535.
Lippincott's Gazetteer of the World: A Complete Pronouncing Gazetteer Or Geographical Dictionary of the World Containing Notices of Over One Hundred and Twenty-five Thousand Places ... Joseph Thomas January 1, 1895 J.B. Lippincott
1898 - TWO PRISONERS CREMATED. Double Fatality in a Connecticut Town Lock-up Fire.
STAFFORD SPRINGS, Conn., Sept. 17. - Two prisoners confined for the night in the town lock-up, Ernest Branford, aged twenty-seven years, and John Marsh, aged forty, met their death early this morning in a small fire which originated in the cell occupied by Marsh.

The two men were arrested last evening for drunkenness, and were locked up in separate cells. At 6 o'clock this morning passersby saw smoke issuing from the lock-up and investigated to find the place filled with smoke and Marsh's cell badly burned. Both of the prisoners were dead.
Branford had evidently died from suffocation, and probably met his death while asleep. Marsh's body was literally baked. It is supposed the fire was the result of an attempt on the part of Marsh to smoke.
The New York Times
New York, New York
September 18, 1898
1906
Stafford, a post-village and township (town) of Tolland co., Conn., on the Central Vermont R., 25 miles (direct) NE. of Hartford. The town has manufactures of cassimere and doeskins. Pop. of the town in 1900, 4297; of the village, about 500. The town includes Stafford Springs.
Lippincott's New Gazetteer: A Complete Pronouncing Gazetteer Or Geographical Dictionary of the World, Containing the Most Recent and Authentic Information Respecting the Countries, Cities, Towns ... in Every Portion of the Globe Publisher J.B. Lippincott Company, 1906
1930 - YOUTH KILLED AS AUTO STRIKES LIGHT POLE
George Avery, 18, of Rockville Victim of Accident on Stafford-Somers Road.

Stafford Springs, Ct., July 1. - George Avery, 18, son of Mr. and Mrs. Harry Avery of 186 East Main street, Rockville, was killed in an automobile accident on the Stafford-Somers state highway early yesterday. Avery was riding in the rumble seat of a roadster driven by John Kashadl of Ogden's corner, VaVron[sic] and the car was traveling toward Stafford Springs when Kushadl lost control of the car at a slight bend in the road, about 1½ miles from Stafford Springs nar[sic] Forestville. The car struck a small tree and ran into an electric light pole.

The force of the collision snapped the pole and tore off the top of the car. It is believed that the car was traveling at a good rate of speed and as it struck the pole Avery was thrown against the edge of the rumble seat and on the floor. Avery was taken to the Johnson Memorial hospital where it was learned that his skull was fractured and that he had also... Read MORE...

2023 - Located in the northeastern part of the state, Stafford offers a mix of outdoor activities, historical sites, and cultural experiences. Here's a list of places to go and things to do in Stafford, Connecticut:
Stafford Motor Speedway: If you're a racing enthusiast, Stafford Motor Speedway is a must-visit. It's a popular venue for stock car racing events and has a vibrant racing community. Check their schedule for upcoming races and events.

Stafford Springs Farmers' Market: Experience the local flavors by visiting the Stafford Springs Farmers' Market. You'll find fresh produce, artisanal goods, and a chance to mingle with the friendly locals. It's a great place to taste the region's culinary offerings.

Hydeville Park: This beautiful park offers a tranquil setting for a leisurely stroll, a picnic, or simply unwinding in nature. It's especially charming during the fall when the foliage changes color.

Stafford Cidery: If you're a fan of craft cider, head to Stafford Cidery. They offer a range of delicious cider varieties, and you can even take a tour to learn about the cider-making process.

Shenipsit State Forest: Nature enthusiasts will appreciate Shenipsit State Forest, which... Read MORE...

Discover MY Roots: Stafford Ancestry

Ancestors Who Were Born or Died in Stafford, Connecticut, USA

We currently have information about ancestors who were born or died in Stafford.

View Them Now (sorted by year of birth)



male ancestorJosiah CONVERSE (1659, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville) - 1717, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville))
female ancestorAbigail LEONARD (11 November 1680, Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA - 3 October 1760, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville))
male ancestorCornelius DAVIS (1695, - 11 June 1779, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville))
male ancestorSamuel LILLE (1695, - 29 April 1774, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville))
female ancestorSarah CLEVELAND (26 May 1701, Sudbury, Massachusetts, USA - 20 July 1782, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville))
male ancestorSolomon WASHBURN (1 October 1708, Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA - 6 March 1780, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville))
female ancestorLyddy HALL (10/05/1708, Mansfield, Connecticut, USA (Storrs) - 01/21/1791, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville))
female ancestorMartha ORCUTT (1709, Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA - 2 December 1794, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville))
male ancestorDaniel ALDEN (1711, - 3 May 1787, Stafford, Connecticut, USA (Stafford Springs) (Staffordville))

Ancestors Who Were Married in Stafford, Connecticut, USA

We currently have information about ancestors who were married in Stafford.

View Them Now

Ancestors buried in Stafford - Cemeteries in Stafford, Connecticut, USA

Stafford Springs Cemetery

Saint Edward Cemetery

Genealogy Resources for Stafford

Connecticut Newspapers

Our Stafford Gift Ideas

Not the place you are looking for? Try again!

Search for MY Family by Place

To search for a place, specify place name below. Choose name from the list. Then SEARCH.
*Place Name:


Expedia

HOTELS.COM - Save 10% - 30% on your next escape!

Ancestry Family Tree Search

Search for MY Family by Name

NOTE: If you don't know your ancestor's whole name or are unsure of the spelling, specify part of the name.

First Name:
*Last Name:
Gender:
Born (+/- 2 years):
Died (+/- 2 years):
Match all terms exactly:

Updated: 9/22/2023 9:18:16 AM