Seasonal stories & historical reading
History of New London, Connecticut, USA
Journey back in time to New London, Connecticut, USA
Explore the history, people, photographs, newspapers, postcards, and genealogy connected to New London, Connecticut, USA.
About New London
In 1954, the first nuclear submarine was launched in New London.
New London Nostalgia: Vintage Photos, Ads, and Postcards


After teaching at the schoolhouse in East Haddam, Nathan Hale went on to become the schoolmaster at the Union School in New London, teaching there from 1774 until the Revolutionary War began in 1775. Built in 1773, the gambrel-roofed school building was originally located on State Street, was moved to Union and Golden streets in 1830 to serve as a private home and was purchased in 1890 by the Connecticut Society of the Sons of the American Revolution... historicbuildingsctcom

Designed by Isaac Fitch of Lebanon, the New London County Courthouse first served as the city's Town Hall and Courthouse. Built in 1784, it was described by architectural historian William Warren as "an ambitious and expensive undertaking for a small region in the New Republic." The Courthouse was built to replace the courthouse burned by the British during the American Revolution.
The original structure was crowned by a distinctive cupola, a Palladian window and fluted pilasters. American Patriot Patrick Henry argued cases in the Courthouse and other historical notables such as Daniel Webster, the Marquis de Lafayette and Horace Greeley spoke there.
jud.ct.gov

Fort Trumbull is a fort near the mouth of the Thames River on Long Island Sound in New London, Connecticut and named for Governor Jonathan Trumbull. The original fort was built in 1777, but the present fortification was built between 1839 and 1852. wikipedia
The first Fort Trumbull was built to protect the New London Harbor from British attack and later served as part of the country's coastal defense system. The masonry fort (the third) that stands today was constructed between 1839 and 1852. portal.ct.gov

Picturesque America... Oliver Bell Bunce, William Cullen Bryant
New York: D. Appleton & Co., 1872-1874.
Show more vintage photos, ads & postcards

museumofcthistory.org
The Brainerd and Armstrong Company, silk manufacturers, located at No. 1 Water Street, was organized under the laws of the State of Connecticut, Sept. 22, 1879, with a capital of sixty thousand dollars, all paid in, contributed by James P. BRAINERD (of Hartford, Conn.), Benjamin A. ARMSTRONG (of New London), and Leonard O. SMITH (of Philadelphia), in equal sums of twenty thousand dollars...
HISTORY OF NEW LONDON COUNTY, CONNECTICUT,
WITH BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF MANY OF ITS PIONEERS AND PROMINENT MEN.
COMPILED UNDER THE SUPERVISION OF D. HAMILTON HURD
J. W. LEWIS & CO., PHILADELPHIA, 1882
PRESS OF J. B. LIPPINCOTT & CO., PHILADELPHIA

After New London’s main depot suffered a devastating fire in 1885, the city’s two railroad providers decided to construct and share a new “union station.” The New York, New Haven, and Hartford Railroad—commonly known as the “New Haven”—and the New London Northern Railroad (then part of the Central Vermont Railway system) ambitiously turned to the renowned Boston architect Henry Hobson Richardson to design a suitable replacement. Opened in 1887, the impressive structure trumpeted the railroads’ regional power and influence as well as the city’s status as an established port and business center... greatamericanstations.com

The southern end of New London was used primarily as farmland in the first two centuries following the founding of the city. In 1852, the same year the shoreline railroad connecting New London to New York was completed, two local businessmen purchased 35 acres of the Harbor's Mouth Farm and erected the Pequot House, a large public hotel, on the northwest corner of Pequot and Glenwood Avenues with 1000 feet of beach frontage...
As the Pequot's reputation as a summer resort grew, families of great wealth and social position who were associated with the industrial growth of the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries began to visit; many returned, either as guests or to build their own summer cottages...
The exclusive social atmosphere of the Pequot Colony was reinforced with the formation of the private Pequot Casino Association in 1890...
livingplaces.com

The park was created by the City of New London in 1893 with land acquired from the Post Hill Improvement Company, and by 1910 it had expanded to nearly 33 acres thanks to gifts from S.D. Lawrence and F.B. Brandegee and from the Palmer Brothers... riversideparkconservancy.org

The Brainerd & Armstrong Co.
No. 6 Union Street, New London, Conn.
The Ladies' Home Journal
September 1898

museumofcthistory.org
Elisha and Edward Palmer originally organized their business as a partnership back in 1867. In 1899, they officially incorporated their Palmer Brothers enterprise. Their goal was to produce quality, upscale bedding and accessories for consumers across the country.
By 1928, the company was in a position to enjoy much of the success its founders originally envisioned. Palmer Brothers had a reputation as one of the finest quilt and comforter producers in the nation. Operating out of mills in New London, Palmerton, and the Fitchville section of Bozrah, Palmer Brothers found a high demand for their products through department stores and mail-order houses.
Like it did for many small companies around the country, however, the Great Depression brought great challenges to the viability of the Palmer Brothers brand. In March of 1935 the company closed its mill in New London and focused its manufacturing efforts in... Read more

New London Ledge Lighthouse was built in 1909 on the southwest ledge. It was originally called the Southwest Ledge light, but this caused confusion with Southwest Ledge Light in New Haven, Connecticut, so it was renamed New London Ledge Light in 1910. The United States Coast Guard took over in 1939 upon its merger with the Lighthouse Service and the light was automated in 1987. The original fourth order Fresnel lens was removed and was later put on display in the Custom House Maritime Museum. The light was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1990. wikipedia

The Smith Memorial Home for Aged, Indigent Ladies who have Resided in New London, was founded by the Late Seth Smith, who Bequeathed the Greater Part of His Fortune for this Purpose. The Home Possesses Accommodations for Twenty-Five Inmates.
Picturesque New London and Its Environs: Grofton, Mystic, Montville, Waterford, at the Commencement of the Twentieth Century
by American book exchange, 1901 - New London (Conn.)

"Connecticut College... is a private liberal arts college located in New London, Connecticut. Founded in 1911, Connecticut College is a primarily residential, four-year undergraduate institution, with nearly all of its approximately 1,900 students living on campus... The college was founded as "Connecticut College for Women", in response to Wesleyan University closing its doors to women in 1909; the college shortened its name to "Connecticut College" in 1969 when it began admitting men..." wikipedia

Founded as New London Junior College in 1938 by Richard P Saunders, Waldo Clarke and Alfred M Bingham, it was renamed Mitchell College (after Alfred Mitchell (1832-1911)) in 1950.
mitchell.libguides.com

Ocean Beach Park was founded in 1940 by the New London City Council in the aftermath of the 1938 New England Hurricane. After the hurricane left the Ocean Beach property devastated by intrusive sands and ruined homes, the City Council determined that the best use of the property would be to use it as a public beach park... wikipedia
Genealogy gifts & optional resources
Genealogy Gifts & Resources Related to NEW LONDON

CONNECTICUT Gift Idea - Apizza, Burger on Toast, White Clam Pizza - I Love Connecticut! - CT Mug for Genealogists Family History
Featuring iconic local delicacies, the design of this mug captures the essence of Connecticut's food culture. It pays homage to the Apizza, a unique and mouthwatering pizza style that originated in New Haven. The legendary Louis' Lunch Burger, said to be the birthplace of the hamburger, is also prominently featured. And of course, there's a nod to the classic White Clam Pizza, a coastal favorite that's a must-try for seafood enthusiasts.

SAVIN ROCK, CT Memories - Vintage Amusement Park Connecticut Postcards Ceramic Mug
Take a nostalgic trip to Connecticut’s beloved Savin Rock amusement park with this charming ceramic mug. Featuring vintage-inspired images and iconic landmarks, it’s perfect for reminiscing about summer days, family outings, and the golden age of amusement parks.

NEW LONDON, CT Vintage Postcard Ceramic Mug
Sip your morning brew in nostalgic style with our New London, Connecticut ceramic coffee mug. Featuring vintage postcard images of Ocean Beach Lighthouse, State Street, and Bentley Avenue from the early 1900s, this mug is a charming tribute to the history of New London, Connecticut.

CONNECTICUT Roots Mug: Bed-and-Breakfast Enthusiast Edition
Start your day with a sip of history and charm from our Connecticut-inspired ceramic mug, proudly proclaiming: "My ancestors came from Connecticut, that explains a lot about my love for charming bed-and-breakfasts and discussing the nuances of colonial architecture." This delightful mug is perfect for those who appreciate the finer things in life, like cozy mornings at quaint inns and lively conversations about the elegance of colonial design.
Discover New London: History, News, Travel, and Stories
Explore the events, newspaper stories, people, and moments that shaped New London through the years.
However, in 1658, the general court at Hartford enacted a statute changing the name to New London. And in keeping with the new name, the river was called the Thames.
The New London, Conn., Evening Day
New London, Connecticut
May 6, 1954
www.e-referencedesk.com/
resources/ state-history-timeline/
connecticut.html
History of New London, Connecticut
Applewood's historiography series
Author Francis Caulkins
Publisher Applewood Books, 2010
ISBN 1429022914, 9781429022910
Page 619
www.cthistoryonline.org/ cho/ journeys/ j_infra_trans_early.html
Author Sir David Brewster
Publisher J. & E. Parker, 1832
Page 229
A Gazetteer of the States of Connecticut and Rhode-Island: Written with Care and Impartiality, from Original and Authentic Materials : Consisting of Two Parts ... : with an Accurate and Improved Map of Each State
Authors John Chauncey Pease, John Milton Niles
Publisher W.S. Marsh, 1819
One of the shire towns of New London county. The first English settlement in New London commenced in 1646. It is situated on the west bank of the river Thames. In its territorial limits it is much the smallest of any town in the state, being about 4 miles in length from north to south, and averages about 3/ 4 of a mile in breadth.—The city of New London is situated 3 miles from Long Island Sound and is a port of entry. It is 42 miles southeast from Hartford, 13 south from Norwich, and 53 east from New Haven. Population, in 1830, 4,356. Lon. 72°9' W., lat. 41°0'25" N. The city is principally built on a declivity, which descends to the east and south. On the summit of the high ground, back of the most populous part of the city, the observer has a fine prospect of the surrounding country. The city is irregularly laid out, owing to the nature of the ground on which it is built, being much encumbered with granite rocks.—The houses are not so handsome in their...
Show more local history, news & stories
connecticuthistory.org/ the-rise-and-fall-of- sealing-in-early-new-london-industry/ #sthash.iPBTWrzP.dpuf
THREE MEN KILLED AND THE OFFICERS ALL INJURED.
New London, Conn., June 24, 1872.
A fearful catastrophe occurred here today, which shades every other calamity at this place since the burning of the steamer City of New London. Terrible as the latter disaster was in most respects, there was at least an opportunity afforded for escape to a number of persons on board the ill-fated vessel; but in the present instance the suddenness of the accident almost precluded the possibility of escape.
The Explosion.
At about a quarter past six A.M. the steam-lighter Wallace, Captain THOMAS A. SCOTT, of Jersey City, started with a load of stone from the government wharf, back of the Custom House, for Race Rock, where the foundation for the new lighthouse is now being laid. When about twenty rods from the dock she exploded her boilers with a tremendous concussion, scattering the fragments in all directions, and dealing death and fearful injuries upon the...
New London, May 7. - At an early hour this morning the famous Pequot House, which crowned the headland at the western entrance to New London harbor, took fire and the blaze lasted for several hours, threatening the entire Pequot settlement of cottages and many splendid Summer homes on Pequot Avenue. The cause of the fire is not known.
Two of the Pequot cottages near by were entirely destroyed and one other, belonging to MRS. ANDREWS of New York, was wrecked.
That the burning of the old hotel will affect the Summer trade considerably is conceded by many of the leading merchants and citizens. Had the hotel burned a few weeks earlier the prospects of an up to date hostelry on its site this Summer would have been an assured fact.
As the matter now stands there is no regret that the ramshackle wooden building that had long outlived its usefulness as a modern Summer hotel, has been wiped out of existence, but the fire causes speculation as to what...
www.cga.edu/ about2.aspx?id=41
The state of Connecticut granted the school a charter in April 1911 under the name of Thames College. The chair of the new Board of Trustees, real estate magnate Morton Plant, provided a $1 million endowment and changed the name to Connecticut College for Women.
www.conncoll.edu/ at-a-glance/ history-traditions/ centennial/ college-history/
New London, Conn., April 10. - King Alcohol was vigorously assaulted eighty years ago in this sea port even with more vigor than since the coming in of the Volsteadian Era. His enemies in 1842 fought under the banner of the Washington Total Abstinence Society which kept aloft for many years. But the time came when the banner was trailed in the dust and indifference killed off the attacks.
In those days there were many so-called temperance societies ranging from the Washingtonians who practiced total abstinence to the Rechabites who were compromising in nature, popular with the middle-of-the-road folks who permitted the use, judiciously, of a little beer, cider, wine and other light drinks. Rum, gin and whisky were barred while brandy was only for the use at the sick bed.
In 1843 with a population of 6,000 the Washingtonians had a membership of 2,000. By a crusade the members of open drinking places was reduced...
The fire which is believed to have started in an elevator shaft gutted the building quickly and destroyed tons of hay and feed stored on upper floors. Only the brick walls four stories high and a brick tower remain. The entire fire department of New London fought the flames for several hours and devoted its chief efforts to protecting neighboring buildings.
The building was erected by the Yale Brewing company about 20 years ago but was abandoned 10 years later and turned over to other uses. It was being used by the P Schwartz company as a storage for hay and grain and by the Tait company ice cream manufacturers. The building had been shut for the night when the fire was ...
The Great New England Hurricane of 1938 was one of the most destructive and powerful storms ever to strike Southern New England. This system developed in the far eastern Atlantic, near the Cape Verde Islands on September 4. It made a twelve day journey across the Atlantic and up the Eastern Seaboard before crashing ashore on September 21 at Suffolk County, Long Island, then into Milford, Connecticut. The eye of the hurricane was observed in New Haven, Connecticut, 10 miles east of Milford. The center made landfall at the time of astronomical high tide, moving north at 60 mph. Unlike most storms, this hurricane did not weaken on its way toward Southern New England, due to its rapid forward speed and its track. This kept the center of the storm over the warm waters of the Gulf Stream.
...Extensive damage occurred to roofs, trees and crops. Widespread power outages occurred, which in some areas lasted several weeks. In Connecticut, downed power lines...
A state emergency was declared at New London, Conn., where power lines were blown down and residents were warned to remain indoors. At 9 a.m. the Coast Guard at New London reported it was no longer able to operate its boats on the tossing sound. Submarines at the U. S. submarine base were submerged to avoid the heavy waves...
The Times Record Troy New York 1954-08-31
Carol formed near the central Bahama Islands on August 25, and moved slowly northward and north-northwestward. By August 30 it was a hurricane about 100-150 miles east of Charleston, South Carolina. It then accelerated north-northeastward, make landfall as a Category 3 hurricane over Long Island, New York and Connecticut on the 31st. The cyclone became extratropical later that day as it crossed the remainder of New England and southeastern Canada.
Sustained winds of 80 to 100 mph were reported over much of eastern Connecticut, all of Rhode Island, and eastern Massachusetts. A peak gust of...
Fort Trumbull State Park: Explore the history of the area by visiting Fort Trumbull State Park. This well-preserved fort offers guided tours that provide insight into its role in American history.
Fort Griswold Battlefield State Park: Another historical site to check out is Fort Griswold Battlefield State Park. This fort played a key role during the American Revolution and offers excellent views of the Thames River.
New London Ledge Light: Take a boat tour to the New London Ledge Light. This iconic lighthouse is known for its unique design and history, and it's a picturesque spot for photos.
Custom House Maritime Museum: Learn about New London's maritime history at the Custom House Maritime Museum. It houses a fascinating collection of artifacts, paintings, and...
Discover YOUR Roots: New London Ancestry
Explore ancestors connected to New London through births, deaths, marriages, cemeteries, and local genealogy resources.
Ancestors Who Were Born or Died in New London, Connecticut, USA
We currently have information about 249 ancestors who were born or died in New London.
View ancestors by year of birthAncestors Who Were Married in New London, Connecticut, USA
We currently have information about ancestors who were married in New London.
View married ancestorsGenealogy Resources and General Items of Interest for New London
Searching For Your Ancestors in Historic Newspapers
Search New London Genealogy
Search by place or by ancestor name to keep exploring families connected to New London.
Find Family by Place
Not the place you were looking for? Start another place search and choose a location from the suggestions.
Find Family by Name
You can enter part of a name if you are unsure of the full name or exact spelling.
Discussion & Local Contributions
Share corrections, memories, local history, or family connections that may help other researchers.

















