Rivière-des-Prairies, Montréal, Québec, Canada (Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rivière-des-Prairies)* - 1832 - The Parish of Riviere des Prairies,
by a regulation made Sept. 20, 1721, confirmed by an Order in Council, Mar. 3, 1722, contains only the Cote de St. Joseph, and extends two leagues along the Riviere des Prairies from the lower part of the island. All the lands in this P. were conceded previous to 1759, and consist of 8226 superficial arpents. In 1821 there were 108 houses, of which 92 were inhabited by farmers and 16 by occupiers of small plots of ground, called emplacemens. The greatest extent occupied by any one person is 320 superficial arpents.
Churches, R.C. 1
Name of church - St. Joseph
A Topographical Dictionary of The Province of Lower Canada by Joseph Bouchette, Esq., London, 1832
Visit Rivière-des-Prairies, Montréal, Québec, Canada (Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rivière-des-Prairies)*
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.