Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu, Québec, Canada - 1832 - ST. ANTOINE,
parish, in the S. of Contrecoeur, extends 2 leagues in front and 100 arpents in depth. It contains 3 concessions entirely settled. The village consists of 22 houses, including an inn; and there is one school, which is supported by the inhabitants. The church is 100 ft. by 40. All the mills are turned by the wind, and there are 6 for grinding corn, 4 of them in the front concession and 2 in the second; there are also two saw-mills. The cattle is of the Canadian breed, and agricultural labour is chiefly performed with horses, and the English cart is used. One third of the grain produced is sold, and also some manufactured stuffs, the inhabitants making more than sufficient for their use. The land and roads are generally good.
Churches R.C. 1
A Topographical Dictionary of The Province of Lower Canada by Joseph Bouchette, Esq., London, 1832
Visit Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu, Québec, Canada
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.