Saint-Charles-de-Bellechasse, Québec, Canada - 1832 - The Parish of St. Charles
is bounded by the 2nd concession of Beaumont; S.E. by an arm of the R. du Sud; N.E. by St. Michel; S.W. by Lauzon. All the lands are under cultivation and those parts that lie in Beaumont, Livaudiere and Martiniere are supposed to have been conceded, at least the greater part, before 1759. The extent of each farm is 3 arpents in front by 40 in depth, paying 1 sol quit-rent and the annual rent of 2 or 3 livres, argent tournois, for each arpent, with an obligation of grinding their corn at the seignorial mill, and a reservation of timber materials for works of public utility, such as churches, presbyteries, and manor-house, also the right of retraite and the obligation de tenir feu et lieu dans l'an et jour; a breach of covenant occasions the forfeiture of the land. The church and parsonage are on the N.W. bank of the Boyer.
Statistics of the Parish of St. Charles.
Churches, R.C. 1
A Topographical Dictionary of The Province of Lower Canada by Joseph Bouchette, Esq., London, 1832
Visit Saint-Charles-de-Bellechasse, Québec, Canada
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.