Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA (Amity) - 1839 Description of Woodbridge, Connecticut
New Haven co. The territory of this town belonged to the towns of New Haven and Milford, and was called the parish of "Amity," from 1739, until its incorporation in 1784. West river runs on the west side of West Rock, a range of mountains on the eastern border of the town. The surface of the town is hilly, but the soil is excellent for grazing, and much butter and cheese is annually taken to New Haven market, from which it lies 6 miles S.W. Population, in 1830, 844.
The regicides, Goffe and Whalley, had a number of places of concealment in the limits of Woodbridge, the most noted of which is Hatchet Harbor or the Lodge, near a beautiful spring, in a valley, about 7 miles from New Haven.
The New England Gazetteer containing descriptions of all the states, counties and towns in New England: also descriptions of the principal mountains, rivers lakes, capes, bays, harbors, islands and fashionable resorts within that territory. Alphabetically arranged. By John Hayward, author of the Columbian Traveller, Religious Creeds, &c. &c. Boston: John Hayward. Boyd & White, Concord, N.H. 1839
Visit Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA (Amity)
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.